Turkey, officially called as the Republic of Turkey is another country located on the continents of Europe and Asia and spreads from the western Asia’s Anatolian peninsula to the Thrace situated in the Balkan region of southeastern part of Europe.

Turkey borders with a total of eight countries of which Bulgaria is situated to the northwest while Greece lies in the west of Turkey. To the east of the country lies Iran along with Armenia and Azerbaijan while to the northeast lies Georgia. To the southeast the country borders with Syria. The Mediterranean Sea and Cyprus are to the south of Turkey while the Aegean Sea and Archipelago are situated in the west. The Black Sea is towards the north of the state. The border between Europe and Asia is formed by the Bosporus Strait and the Dardanelles Strait. The culture of the country reflects its location and presents a blend of the east and the west. The country has influenced economy, politics and culture of both sides and has enjoyed a unique spot in the history of the nations of the world. The strategic significance of Turkey is capitalized upon by the East as well as the West ultimately benefiting the Turkish Government. The country has a strong influence on the European Union which is one of the most powerful bodies of Europe and is thus acknowledged as a major partner by European countries. The governance of Turkey is based on democracy and secularism and the state is a republic by constitution. The political system currently implemented in the region was founded in the year 1923 after the decline of the Ottoman Empire post World War I. the decision was taken under the guidance of Mustafa Kemal Ataturk and ever since then the state has been a constitutional republic. The country quickly gained acceptance in the West and was admitted in all major alliances and organizations one after the other.