Kansas City

The Kansas City is a Metropolitan Area that is made up from a total of fifteen counties. The area is located on the border of the state of Missouri and the state of Kansas. The total population of the area was estimated in the year 2007 to be approximately 1,985,429. The metropolitan area of Missouri ranks on number two amongst all the metropolitan areas of the state and is the largest close to the border of Kansas.

The area of the city is divided into quadrants namely the Northland, Midtown, South Kansas City, East side and the Wyandotte.


The Northland is located on the northward side of the river and is also called as the Kansas City North. The area lies completely in the state of Missouri and includes the Platte and Clay Counties. The Charles B. Wheeler Kansas City Downtown Airport is situated within the peninsula of the river which is formed by a sharp bend in the river.

South Kansas City

South KC is the southern part of the Metropolitan area of the Kansas City and is also called South Kansas City. The area contains parts of Missouri and also the suburb of Raymore, Harrisonville, and Lee’s Summit as well as the suburb of GrandviewBelton.


It is the central part of the metropolitan area and lies towards the direction of South from the downtown area. The midtown area marks urban dwellings and is re distributed into famous neighborhoods. These include neighborhoods of West Plaza, Westport, Hyde Park, Brookside, The Country Club Plaza, Ward Parkway, Southmoreland, Rock hill, Valentine and Coleman Highlands. The midtown comprises of most of the large business centers of the Kansas City area and also includes the Nelson-Atkins Museum.

Eastern Area:

The urban area of the eastside is included in this area of the Kansas City. The area also contains the Truman Sports Complex which is very famous for the Royal clientele.