South Carolina

The state of South Carolina is one of the states of the United States of America which is situated in the southern part of the country. There were thirteen colonies initially which declared themselves to be independent from the rule of Great Britain in the time of the America Revolution. South Carolina was one of them. The original name of the state was Carolina, which later on became the Province of South Carolina. The first state to break away from the Union was the state of South Carolina. It became a part of the Confederate States of America. The name of the state comes from the name of a king, King Charles II. The Latin translation of Charles is Carolus. According to figures collected in the year 2006 by the United States Census Bureau, the state if South Carolina was home to more than four million three hundred and twenty one thousand people. This makes it rank twenty fourth with respect to the level of population among all the other states of the country.

South Carolina is surrounded by North Carolina, Georgia, and the Atlantic Ocean in the north, south and west, and east respectively. The Savannah River is located across from Georgia. There are four different geographical areas which form a part of South Carolina. The boundaries of these four areas run parallel to the coastline of the Atlantic in the south west and the north east. The region called the Lowcountry or the Coastal Plain is located in the lower part of the state. Located due west of the coastal plain is the Midlands, which is also known as the Sandhills region. The Piedmont region is located Upstate, and the Foothills are located in north western portion of the Piedmont region.

The climate of the region can be classified as being a humid subtropical climate. The summer season is humid and hot, while the winter has lower temperatures, with the winter in the coastal areas being mild.