The Auckland metropolitan area which is also called as the Greater Auckland is situated in the North Island of the country of New Zealand. This is the largest as well as the most populous urban area in the entire country and the total population of the area is about 1.3 million people. The estimated population of the Greater Auckland area alone makes up for more than a quarter of the entire population of the country of New Zealand. The population density of the area has been increasing steadily and the population forecast predicts that the trend will continue in the future as well. The area is also popular for having the largest Polynesian population within any single city on the globe. The conurbation called as the Greater Auckland area is formed by the union of Auckland City, urban parts of the city of Waitakere, urban parts of the city of Manukau, North Shore City and Papakura District as well as certain urban areas of the two districts of Rodney and Franklin. In the Maori language the area is call as Tamaki-makau-rau. The area of the Auckland city that is included in the Greater Auckland area is devoid of the islands of the Hauraki Gulf. Auckland is situated exactly in between the Hauraki Gulf which lies in the Pacific Ocean, the Hunua Ranges, the Manukau Harbour and the Waitakere Ranges. The city is perhaps one of the few cities that have separate harbors on two different bodies of water on the map of the world.

Thus Auckland comes across as a city that is enriched with an exclusive geographic location as well as a history and has a man power exceeding any other area of the country of New Zealand. The metropolitan area has a culture of its own that is distinct from other areas and represents the Polynesian trends at their best.